Hospitality Management Subject Guide: Articles

Hospitality Net News- US & Canada

Why Use...

Articles provide information on very specific, narrow topics. The Library purchases article databases so you may access articles for your topic – for free. Researchers use them when they need:

  • Magazines and Newspapers: Brief coverage of contemporary events written to all levels of readers.
  • Peer Reviewed/Scholarly Journals: Reports of research or scholarship on specific topics written by scholars to other scholars

Article Databases

  • ABI/INFORM Collection
    • HCC Only
    • Articles
    • Newspapers
    • Statistics
    Best Bet

    Business, management and trade journal articles, dissertations, market reports, industry reports, business cases and global and trade news. Coverage: 1971 – present.

  • Hospitality & Tourism Complete
    Best Bet

    Scholarly/peer reviewed, magazine and news articles from 500+ publications and industry reports and reviews for all areas of hospitality and tourism including the culinary arts, demographics & statistics, development & investment, food & beverage management, hospitality law, hotel management & administrative practices, leisure & business travel, market trends, technology and more. Coverage: 1965 – present.

  • ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry‎
    • HCC Only
    • Articles
    • Newspapers

    Trade, industry-focused information from journal articles, market reports, industry reports and news. Coverage: 1971 – present.

  • Academic Search Complete
    • HCC Only
    • Articles
    • Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
    • Newspapers
    Featured

    Scholarly/peer-reviewed, magazine and newspaper articles for most subject areas. Includes full-text for 9,000+ and indexing for 15,000+ publications. Also includes book chapters, Associated Press videos, encyclopedias, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Coverage: As early as 1887-present.

  • Business Source Complete
    • HCC Only
    • Articles
    • Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
    • Newspapers

    Scholarly/peer reviewed journal, magazine, and newspaper articles for all business subjects, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Includes full-text for 3,000+ and indexing for 4,000+ titles. Also includes financial data, books, major reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more. Coverage: as early as 1965.

  • Gale Academic OneFile
    • HCC Only
    • Articles
    • Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
    • Newspapers
    Featured

    Scholarly/peer-reviewed, magazine and newspaper articles for most subject areas. Includes full-text for 8,000+ and indexing for 17,000+ publications. Also includes book chapters, encyclopedias, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Coverage: 1980-present.

  • ProQuest Central
    • HCC Only
    • Articles
    • Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
    • Newspapers
    Featured

    Covers business, health, language, literature, social sciences, education, science and technology, performing and visual arts, history, religion, philosophy. Includes jorurnals, magazines, newspapers and more from around the world.

  • Regional Business News
    • HCC Only
    • Articles
    • Newspapers

    Newspaper articles from regional business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Coverage: 1970 - present.

Search Google Scholar

Why Use...

Google Scholar

searches articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites across many disciplines. - Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Google Scholar Search

Search Tips

  1. Get full text articles for free.This setting will allows you to access full-text available through HCC for articles that aren't already online.
    • Click on Settings on the main Google Scholar search page.
    • Click on Library Links on the Scholar Settings page.
    • Type Howard Community College in search box to set up a connection to HCC's full-text linking.
    • Select Howard Community College – Full Text @HCC.
    • Save your settings.
  2. Cite Articles.
    • Click on Cite beneath a citation on the results list. Google Scholar provides citations for MLA, APA and Chicago styles.