Library Resources & Services: Maps & Geography Subject Guide: Background Info

Why Use...

Background sources such as, but not limited to, dictionaries and encyclopedias provide context for your topic or even help you choose one. Researchers use them when they need:

A brief overview of a topic
Definitions of terminology
Important issues, figures, dates, and/or events for a topic
Sources for further research in the form of bibliographies

Suggested Resources

National Geographic Collegiate Atlas of the World by U. S. National Geographic Society Staff
Call Number: G1021 .N392 2011 EB
Presents a reference guide that features state-of-the-art world maps, allowing readers to compare physical, political, and regional data, with specilized maps that cover such global themes as tectonics, biodiversity, energy sources, food, and population.
National Geographic Visual Atlas of the World by U. S. National Geographic Society Staff
Call Number: G1021 .N44 2009
A comprehensive, up-to-date atlas encompasses more than three hundred thematic maps, along with more than six hundred color photographs, illustrations, charts, and graphs, that document the world's natural and cultural wonders.

Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia and dictionary entries for most subject areas. Dates covered: latest edition of each title.
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Ebooks on most subject areas. Read online or set up an account to download or print up to 30% of pages. Please close or "release" a book when you are finished. Coverage: varies.
Credo This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia, dictionary and biographical entries from hundreds of sources for most subject areas. It includes images, diagrams, maps and photos, and audio pronunciation files and sound clips. Coverage 2000 – present.

Maps & Geography Subject Guide: Background Info

Why Use...

Suggested Resources

Social Media

Library Hours

Contact Us