Skip to main content

Archives & Special Collections

Visiting the Archives

The physical archives are accessible by appointment only. Contact the College Archivist to arrange a visit.

We are open to both members of the college and the public. You may be asked to fill out a brief survey during your visit in order to help make future visits a better experience.

Researchers are permitted to bring with them pencils, notebooks, and laptops or tablets. The archivist will retrieve materials for you, and a workspace will be provided within the archives. Permission to take photographs will be evaluated by the Archives staff.

Copyright & Use of Materials

For further information regarding copyright on campus follow this link:

Welcome to the Howard Community College Archives & Special Collections

The HCC Archives was created to collect, arrange, describe and preserve the history of Howard Community College. Our mission is to document the functions of the college and maintain and increase access to these materials. HCC has played an important role in the history of Columbia and Howard County, and we encourage all scholars to utilize our resources.

The HCC Digital Archives is the online repository for select documents, including:

This Month

The HCC Archives is currently seeking donations for video playing equipment.

As you can see below, we have tons of of great historical audiovisual media - everything from recordings of lectures, entertainment events, award ceremonies, and more.

The HCC Archives has a large number of videos in a wide range of formats.

However, while its easy for researchers to come by and view VHS and DVD media, we have other valuable information on harder-to-come-by formats, like Beta and U-matic. 

We now have the ability to play Beta and U-Matic (3/4") video! 

We hope to have full digitization services of magnetic tape in the near future.

 

Collection Highlights

Did you know that before adopting the name The Dragons, HCC sports teams were known as the Iron Horse Express?

Do you know anything about this image? Send us an email!

Brian Cumer, College Archivist

Brian Cumer's picture
Brian Cumer
Contact:
CL234 (Archives)
443-518-4271
Website

About the HCC Archives

The Archives is located in Room CL234 in the Clark Library, and is available by appointment, M-W.