| Place to Search | Suggested Uses | Dates Covered | Major Regions | Languages |
| ProQuest National Newspapers New York Times Washington Post Wall Street Journal |
Best for accessing full-text of current newspaper articles from national publications | 1980-present 1980-present 1987-present 1984-present |
Local, regional & national news | Interface available in 17 languages |
| Lexis-Nexis Academic | Best for local, state, national and international news | Varies | U.S. and world | Dutch, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish |
| Academic OneFile | Best for news transcripts and audio files, including NPR | Varies | U.S. | Some European languages |
| Google News | Best for browsing news sources categorized by language and region | Varies (mostly recent) | U.S. and world (see bottom of page to change focus) | Numerous |
| Chronicling America Historic American Newspapers | Best for keyword searching the text of historic newspapers & viewing historic advertisements | 1836-1922 | U.S. | English |
| Google Newspaper Archives | Good for viewing articles in their original layouts | Varies | U.S. and world | Spanish and French |
Collection of newspaper, magazine and scholarly/peer-reviewed, magazine articles for most subject areas and business and legal information. Includes foreign language news; company, industry, and market news; legal news; company financial information; accounting, auditing and tax information; law reviews; federal and state law, regulations and statutes; court opinions; and SEC filings such as 10-K's, 10-Q's, and their exhibits. French, Italian, Portuguese, Russian and Spanish language newspapers.
Coverage: 1990 – present.
Scholarly/peer-reviewed, magazine and newspaper articles for most subject areas. Includes full-text for 8,000+ and indexing for 17,000+ publications. Also includes book chapters, encyclopedias, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Coverage: 1980-present.