Use key terms or words, not phrases or full sentences.
Examples:
Use filters or limits:
Use 'search within page:'
The Bill of Rights is the first 10 amendments to the Constitution. It defines citizens’ and states’ rights in relation to the Government.
The first amendment is the freedom of religion, speech and press.
The Free Speech Movement (FSM) was a lengthy student protest which took place during the 1964–65 academic year at the University of California, Berkeley. The FSM was informally led by Mario Savio.
Background sources such as, but not limited to, dictionaries and encyclopedias provide context for your topic or even help you choose one. Researchers use them when they need:
This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia, dictionary and biographical entries from hundreds of sources for most subject areas. It includes images, diagrams, maps and photos, and audio pronunciation files and sound clips. Coverage 2000 – present.
This link opens in a new window
Collection of scholarly/peer reviewed, magazine and newspaper articles on social issues. Includes media, maps, websites and statistics.
Coverage: varies.
This link opens in a new windowCollection of newspaper, magazine and scholarly/peer-reviewed articles, primary sources, images and videos, and encyclopedia entries for United States history. Coverage: varies.
This link opens in a new windowCollection of 13,000+ primary and secondary sources, including 2,500 documents, 4,000 images, 250 maps, and 250 audio/video recordings that explain the structure and foundations of our government and that connects these concepts to the issues of the day. Includes 2,500+ biographies and Perspectives sections that examine controversial issues from all angles. Coverage: varies.
This link opens in a new windowCollection of encyclopedic entries, book chapters, overview essays, primary sources, timelines, images, maps and charts, biographies, etc. for events, themes, organizations, places and cultural developments in American History. Includes 2,500+ biographies, 2,000+ primary source documents; timelines; 3,000+ images and a Selection of the Month section that highlights an event tied to each month. Coverage: varies
This link opens in a new windowEncyclopedia and dictionary entries for most subject areas. Dates covered: latest edition of each title.
This link opens in a new windowCollection of book chapters, newspaper, magazine and scholarly/peer reviewed articles and general and biographical encyclopedia entries for issues and controversies in history. Coverage: varies.
This link opens in a new windowCollection of encyclopedia articles, biographies, facts & figures, media. photos & illustrations, political cartoons, posters on popular culture. Also includes primary sources including documents, speeches, letters, political, government & court documents and cultural artifacts. Coverage: 1900 – present.
This link opens in a new windowEncyclopedia entries from Salem Press publishers for a variety of subjects, including for health, literature, careers, history, science, music and more. Coverage: varies.