Articles - ENGL 121 - College Composition - Course Guide - Hamilton - Library Resources & Services at Howard Community College

Keywords

Use key terms or words, not phrases or full sentences.

Examples:

bill of rights
freedom of speech
first amendment
student movements
student protestors
berkeley
mario savio
milo yiannopoulos
ann coulter
campus safety
free speech
hate speech
disinvite

Search Tips

Use filters or limits:

subject;
date;
content types (journals; news).

Use 'search within page:'

narrow down to more specific information or a specific word (college; restrictions).

Why Use...

Articles provide information on very specific, narrow topics. The Library purchases article databases so you may access articles for your topic – for free. Researchers use them when they need:

Magazines and Newspapers: Brief coverage of contemporary events written to all levels of readers.
Peer Reviewed/Scholarly Journals: Reports of research or scholarship on specific topics written by scholars to other scholars

Article Databases - General

Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Scholarly/peer-reviewed, magazine and newspaper articles for most subject areas. Includes full-text for 8,000+ and indexing for 17,000+ publications. Also includes book chapters, encyclopedias, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Coverage: 1980-present.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly/peer-reviewed, magazine and newspaper articles for most subject areas. Includes full-text for 9,000+ and indexing for 15,000+ publications. Also includes book chapters, Associated Press videos, encyclopedias, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Coverage: As early as 1887-present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Scholarly/peer reviewed articles from 400+ publications in the arts and sciences. Note: Current issues (usually the last 2 - 5 years) are NOT included by JSTOR and may be available for a fee directly from the publisher or through another source. HCC Library has access to the Arts & Sciences I Collection, Arts & Sciences II Collection, Arts & Sciences III Collection, Arts & Sciences IV Collection and Open Content Collection. Coverage: varies, never has the most two current years of publication.
JSTOR now includes Artstor content: Art images and associated data for noncommercial and scholarly, non-profit educational use. Includes architecture, painting, photography, prints, drawings, sculpture, decorative arts and design, as well as archeological and anthropological objects. Provides software tools to enable active use of the images. The tools support a wide range of uses including analyzing images, saving groups of images online, and creating and delivering presentations both online and offline. Coverage: Prehistory – present.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Collection of newspaper, magazine and scholarly/peer-reviewed, magazine articles for most subject areas and business and legal information. Includes foreign language news; company, industry, and market news; legal news; company financial information; accounting, auditing and tax information; law reviews; federal and state law, regulations and statutes; court opinions; and SEC filings such as 10-K's, 10-Q's, and their exhibits. French, Italian, Portuguese, Russian and Spanish language newspapers.
Coverage: 1990 – present.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of scholarly/peer reviewed, magazine and newspaper articles on social issues. Includes media, maps, websites and statistics.
Coverage: varies.

Article Databases - History

Issues and Controversies in History This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of book chapters, newspaper, magazine and scholarly/peer reviewed articles and general and biographical encyclopedia entries for issues and controversies in history. Coverage: varies.
Gale In Context: U.S. History This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of newspaper, magazine and scholarly/peer-reviewed articles, primary sources, images and videos, and encyclopedia entries for United States history. Coverage: varies.

Articles Databases - Newspapers

Baltimore Sun (The Sun) This link opens in a new window
Newspaper articles from the Baltimore Sun. Includes news from Maryland. Does not include .PDF files of the actual paper or images. Coverage: 1990 – present.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Newspaper articles from the New York Times newspaper. Coverage: 1980 - present.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Articles from the newspaper, The Wall Street Journal. Coverage: 1982 - present.
Washington Post This link opens in a new window
Articles from the newspaper, The Washington Post. Coverage: 1987 - present
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Collection of newspaper, magazine and scholarly/peer-reviewed, magazine articles for most subject areas and business and legal information. Includes foreign language news; company, industry, and market news; legal news; company financial information; accounting, auditing and tax information; law reviews; federal and state law, regulations and statutes; court opinions; and SEC filings such as 10-K's, 10-Q's, and their exhibits. French, Italian, Portuguese, Russian and Spanish language newspapers.
Coverage: 1990 – present.

Article Databases - Additional Historic Newspaper Databases

Access these databases from:

a Howard County Library System branch; or,
another location - will need HCLS library card number + PIN

The Howard County Library System (public library) provides access to a number of historical newspaper databases, including:

Baltimore Afro-American Archives (1893 – 1988)
Often called The Afro, this weekly newspaper was the most widely circulated African American paper on the Atlantic coast. It was the first black newspaper to have correspondents reporting on World War II as well as foreign correspondents and female sports correspondents.
Baltimore Sun Archives (1837 – 1993)
New York Times Archives (1851 – 2015)
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
Features full-text and images from urban and rural papers throughout America in the 1800s, with an emphasis on topics such as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration, and Antebellum-era life.
ProQuest Newsstand (1984 – current)
Includes more than 1,600 U.S. and world newspapers, such as the Los Angeles Times, the Chicago Tribune, the Toronto Star, the Guardian, etc.
Washington Post (1877 – 2000)
Access the Baltimore Sun Archives & then use "Change Databases" to change to Washington Post (1877 – 2000)

ENGL 121 - College Composition - Course Guide - Hamilton: Articles