SOCI 102 - Social Problems - Hailu - Course Guide: Articles

Articles provide information on very specific, narrow topics. The Library purchases article databases so you may access articles for your topic – for free. Researchers use them when they need:

• Magazines and Newspapers: Brief coverage of contemporary events written to all levels of readers.
• Peer Reviewed/Scholarly Journals: Reports of research or scholarship on specific topics written by scholars to other scholars

Keywords to consider when researching corporate social responsibility:

• "corporate social responsibility" OR CSR OR "social responsibility" OR "corporate responsibility" OR "social responsibility of business"
• "sustainable development" OR sustainability
• fair trade
• green business or environment
• corporate governance
• business ethics
• human rights
• labor or workers
• "fair wage" OR "minimum wage"

Industry information will provide an overview and in-depth understanding of a particular industry.

Search tips:

• Use related terms or ideas (synonyms) - databases may have different terms for the same or similar industry.
  • apparel, clothing
  • fabric, textile
• Use multiple databases - each covers different industries, with some overlap.
• Industry classifications are NOT the same across all databases - modify your search as you use different databases.

Company information provides information about specific companies:

• profiles
• histories
• government filings
• financial data
• analyst reports

Search tips:

• Parent company - companies may have a number of subsidiaries for different parts of their business
• Company name field - some databases allow you to search by company name